Shopping Evolution

I’ll never be ready for grand-mama clothing.  You know what I mean, someone you know came to mind as you read that.

I like to think I have some style…..  I do buy comfortable shoes, but they have to have style if they are going to live in my closet.  My practicality and budget minded self doesn’t allow for many frivolous impulsive purchases.

Recently I noticed the clothing retailers I’ve shopped for years haven’t seemed to age with me.  Maybe I need to find different stores.  You know what I mean?  I’m a baby boomer, the tail end of the boom, but still a AARP boomer.  I don’t think AARP is lobbying for designers to design clothing and shoes that are somewhat currently fashionable, well made, AND the biggie, reasonably priced.  Am I wanting too much?  Surely I’m not alone in this quest. Where should I be shopping?  Where are the folks who design, make and sell clothes for women like me, average 50+ (fashionista wantabe) American woman.

I’ll tell you what brought on this rant…..  I visited my older son last weekend (he’s a freshman at a major southern university).  I had about 3 hours while my boys hung out in the dorm (they really don’t want mom to hang with them, I know this…. they didn’t tell me) to do a bit of shopping. Ooooh, I was excited at the possibilities…..I used to love to shop when I was younger, thinner and had more discretionary cash.  All that has changed, including the husband.  I don’t shop much now…. But I had some cash to spend and hit a few retailers; JC Penny, Belk’s, Chico’s and a few others in between.  I prefer smaller shops rather than department stores, as I quickly feel overwhelmed by the amount of merchandise in department stores.  I was frustrated I couldn’t find something that seem just right.  You know what I mean?  Something fresh, current, but not crossing that fine line of being too young, but not looking too old and frumpy.  When I did find something at Chico’s I choose to leave the items due to poor customer service. There was none. It was bad. What’s the point of a boutique shop if you don’t get boutique service? (BTW, I did send an email to their customer service department regarding my experience with a reply that it would be passed on to the store’s management. A lot of good it will do, not likely.)

I guess I need to seek out different places to shop, I know fashion is out there, it just has to fit my style and (gasp) age… My shopping habits need to evolve to fit my aging self, as challenging as it seems to be, I’m trying to embrace it.

My sweet grandmother showed me that you can have style regardless of age. At 93 she made sure she was well put together prior to leaving for the hospital unaware she would “cross on to glory”. (God blessed me with you Meme, I miss you still) I can only pray that I carry off style and grace she did.

2 thoughts on “Shopping Evolution

  1. I remember having the pleasure of meeting Meme for the first time at lunch in the 80s. She was definitely a lady with style, elegance and class. The ‘Aging Hipster” is a tribute to Meme and her fashion sense.

  2. Your grandmother knew the secret. Well put together goes beyond what the stores offer, but it sure helps when we find things that work for us. Not an easy task, but so fun when I find the perfect piece.

Leave a Reply

